The Hits Keep Coming...

09/06/2006 - 8:55 AM

And the hits keep coming�

That�s kind of how I�m feeling this morning, although it�s not really that bad. So here�s my life at the moment�

� Work is plowing along as best as can be expected. Folks actually seem to be going through a bit of a grieving process, since most people are not expecting to relocate with the company when things move. People are pissed, sad, confused�I hate to see it, and yet I�m also frustrated by it. Some folks feel like they need to just keep talking, hoping that it will eventually make sense, but all that does is get me more worked out. I don�t want to hear your grandiose theory that really has no basis in fact, but is strictly speculation. I�d just like to do my job until they tell me I don�t have it. Thank you.
� As I was getting ready to leave my folks� place in Syracuse on Monday, my step dad was asking me questions about what my plans were post-job and pre-Matt�s PhD. In a way I�m glad that he was asking me, since he brought up one or two things I hadn�t considered. However, it got me a little worked up over the whole situation, too. We can�t make any decisions about where we�re going until Matt gets acceptance letters next year, so the timing of all of this couldn�t be worse. My hope is that I have a job until April or May of next year, and then I can use my severance package to go wherever we choose to be, and establish a residence/job/situation in advance of the first semester.
� Things with Matt really couldn�t be any sweeter than they currently are. It�s not a perfect relationship�there are still some �intimacy� issues, but in the grand scheme of things, I couldn�t ask for a better partner. I returned home on Monday night to find a VERY cool fountain that he�d purchased while I was gone. Talk about completely surprised�I never would have guessed he�d get that, but I love it. We need to figure out where to put it this week, but it will be one more thing to remind me how wonderful he truly is.
� Somewhere along the line, I need to deal with the whole �what am I going to do when I grow up� issue. Although you�d think the whole layoff situation would be a good time to consider it, it�s very possible that I will just fall into a new situation, avoiding that pothole once again.

The original plan for tonight was to do dinner with our minister and her daughter, but we haven�t heard back from her yet, so we may actually have a quiet night, which is FINE BY ME. The rest of the week is looking kind of busy. However, having a relatively quiet weekend at home will be nice. I�d like to say I�ll spend it catching up on sleep, but we all know differently. Positive thinking never hurt, though.

What I'm Listening To: Tim McGraw - Some Things Never Change

First Word That Comes To Mind: hits

What I'm Currently Reading: Karin Slaughter - Triptych


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland