A Heinous Job

07/28/2004 - 9:13 PM

It's already turning into a repeat of last night in the sleep department, so let's see if I can channel that into my second entry of the day...

Work is heinous. I actually flirted with the fantasy of just quitting on the spot today, but a fantasy is all it is. The last week of the month during the summer is a hectic time for the business, and this one is proving to be double the trouble. In a nutshell, my job is handling the logistics of our "product". My responsibility is to make sure that the people who reserve the product have it when they expect it. Problem is, everyone wants it the last Saturday of the month, and the key here is finding a fine line between how long to offer the product, and when to cut it off so we aren't overextended. Long story short, we are EXTREMELY overextended, and I've still got three more days to get through. Combine that with my penchant for bringing my work home mentally, and it's not good OR healthy.

However, there is good news to report. Terry, who told me about this job and talked to his dad about me, confided in me that his dad is looking to promote me once we get through the peak season. He didn't have details about the position, except to say that it's a $20 million segment of our business, and it will be a new position. I've always found that I excel when I'm placed in a challenging position that expects innovation in order to get the job done, so the potential for this position interests me. However, I've gotten my hopes up about several potential job changes in the past six months (including two that were internal offerings), and I need to just get this out of my mind for the moment. I have a very bad habit of counting the chickens before they've hatched.

Matt and I had dinner at CPK this evening, and it was nice to spend a little time with him tonight, knowing how my week has been going. Sometimes it's cool to have a mini-date where you just spend an hour or two together, and then go your separate ways for the rest of the day/night. He's probably been watching all of the convention coverage, while I've made a conscious effort to stay away. So my intention was to go to bed early, with an assist from Simply Sleep.

[Sidebar...I'm convinced that this stuff is simply a placebo, because it only works for me when I'm relaxed, and just need to ensure I'm getting a solid eight hours. Anytime that I've got stress that is keeping me up, it never does the trick.]

*Yawn*

I feel duped. Bush is a tool, both by himself, and of the conservative Right. Kerry has no idea who he truly is, but he seems to think that not being full defined is his best weapon. Um, okay. Nader...ego trip. 'Nuff said. I will vote in the state primary next month for the Senate nominee, and I will vote in the November election for the least of three evils, but I'm not happy about any of it.

The best way I can describe how I feel toward the Democratic Party right now is when you see the President or a candidate giving a speech, and there's about 100 people standing on risers behind them. Campaigns have those people there to help show diversity, but they never get to say anything. The Dems want us at the party, but buried in that crowd of people. Seen, but not heard.

And now one more disappointment...I forgot to watch Amish in the City last night. Oops.

What I'm Listening To: Will Downing - Emotions

First Word That Comes To Mind: stressed

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland