Gettin' Hitched

06/11/2004 - 10:33 PM

Where do I begin, when I haven�t had a fulfilling update in over two weeks?

How about this? I�m getting married.

*extremely heavy sigh*

Wow. I haven�t seen it typed out like that before. Well, at least not from the first person perspective. So much of the past few days have made me feel like some lovesick girl in a schlocky movie, in awe of what her love has borne.

Yuck.

And yet I�m not ashamed or embarrassed. If anything, I am embarrassed by just how much I�m enjoying the feeling. Telling friends via IM and phone, having Matt send me a link to a wedding ring he saw online, hashing out (at least in my mind) what way the events will go, looking for daily hints of how laws will evolve in multiple states over the next 12 months.

As much as I have always idealized what the perfect relationship would become, I never thought for a moment that I would even flirt with marriage, let alone partake. I have no doubts about this one, though. So here�s a quick summary of what we know so far about the joyous occasion:

� The actual ceremony for family and friends will be held in Denver at the church Matt and I attend. I cannot think of anyone I want to have perform the ceremony more than the pastor of the church.

� This will be followed by a civil ceremony held in a state that recognizes same-sex marriages; civil unions will not work at this point. Right now, California, Oregon, New York and Massachusetts are the ones that come to mind, but we�ll see how the courts and the legislatures operate in the coming months.

� We are not calling this an engagement�this is different, for some reason. Maybe that�s because we have to exchange vows twice to get what any straight couple in Colorado would get in one shot.

� No idea where the honeymoon will be, although I�m thinking the honeymoon should be where the civil ceremony is held.

There has been other things going on in my life, but I�m pretty tired at the moment, so I will need to work on further updates in the morning. Stay tuned�

What I'm Listening To: Van Hunt - Dust

First Word That Comes To Mind: marriage

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland