Work on the Fourth of July

07/04/2004 - 1:26 PM

So in all of my discussions about the upcoming happy occasion (or "HO", as Matt nicknamed it yesterday), but Non-Descript reminded me that I hadn't told you how it came about, so I figure I owe that much to you all if you've stuck with me through all this preparation stuff.

We were actually on the phone a month ago, talking to each other on a Sunday night. I actually have no idea where the subject came from, but it hit me upside the head pretty hard when Matt brought it up. We had talked about how that might be an eventual goal, but I left the ball completely in Matt's court. So it's safe to say that the grin on my face was ear-to-ear when we got off the phone that night. He really impressed me by acknowledging what I had already known was there for a while.

So since we met with the restaurant on Wednesday, we've talked about rings (probably Titanium) and formal wear (morning suits, not tuxedos). Who knew that there was a difference, and that it actually matters to some people? Invitations have also been discussed, and the cocktail party the night before is in its infancy. A couple of friends of Matt will probably be handling that.

Other than this stuff, there really hasn't been all that much going on. I'm working the p/t job tonight (rough timing on a holiday, but the pay should be amazing tonight), and have a couple of more shifts this month, but nothing major. Speaking of work, this is actually being typed at the f/t job, where I volunteered to work since part of my day was already shot with the p/t job. The only consolation is that I don't have to work Mon, Thurs, Sat and Sun of this coming week as a reward. And that's fine by me.

I also finally got my home computer issues straightened out. Turns out some Trojan Horse or virus got in and just flooded my computer with spyware and other junk. Malcolm came over last night, installed a new version of Norton (about $100 when we got done between the Firewall and the Utilities), and it seems so much better now. Just wish I hadn't had to spend so much money, but that's the first major investment I've had to put into the computer in the three years I've had it, so I suppose it was about due.

Okay...time to leave job #1 and head to job #2. Hope y'all have had a great Fourth of July, and I'll check in later.

What I'm Listening To: Brandy - Afrodisiac

First Word That Comes To Mind: Working

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland