The Eve of Halloween

10/30/2003 - 5:47 PM

One day and counting, and it's actually becoming a lot more bearable at work. People are telling me that they're sorry I'm leaving, and asking about future plans. Looks like the plans will be decided tomorrow...Ted told me HR gave the department an offer, and it was sent back because it was too low. How cool is THAT? I don't even have to negotiate or anything. As for the boss, she's being very pleasant, and I'm being extremely helpful in wrapping up as many loose ends as humanly possible. Wouldn't you know it...the week that I decide to leave, it seems like everything at work is settling down. Of course, as soon as I'd expect it, it would kick back up again, but you wouldn't think that if you sat at my desk. I have a feeling that the boss has communicated with the main customers and eliminated my contact with them, and all I can say is AMEN TO THAT!

It cracks me up that I'm getting a vibe that she doesn't trust me, since I have given her NO reason to think that I would want or need to retaliate in any way, shape or form. Even our HR director complimented me on how professional I've been about all this, given the circumstances, and has told me that I'm definitely considered eligible for rehire, should Hell freeze over and I decided to go back. As much as I'm going to miss it there, there's no way I could go back. Does "damaged goods" mean anything to you? I'm not sure if I consider MYSELF the goods, or the job, but either way, it would just be weird.

Headed to Matt's to have a quiet dinner and a laid-back evening. The Halloween party is at his place tomorrow night, so I know he's got a couple of things to take care of. I just want a big hug from the boy...then he can use me for slave labor.

What I'm Listening To: Ashanti - Rain On Me

First Word That Comes To Mind: Quiet

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland