Eating My Way Through Atlanta

06/05/2006 - 2:53 PM

Friday Dinner - Club Sandwich on sourdough bread
Brunch Saturday - Buckhead Omelet with sourdough toast and home fries
Saturday Dinner - Corn Nuggets, Fried Green Tomatoes, Chicken Fried Chicken, mac and cheese, green beans
Sunday Brunch - Hangover Pizza (a breakfast pizza, even though I didn't have a hangover)
Sunday Dinner - Chili Cheese fries, prime rib, sweet potato, caesar salad
Monday Breakfast - Cheddar Scramble, hash browns, sourdough toast
Mid-morning snack - Steak and Shake peanut butter shake
Monday Lunch - Rib Sandwich, potato salad

Yeah...a trip to Atlanta has to be prepared for when you've been on a diet and regimen like I've been on. I had already come off the diet to prep for the Bolder Boulder, but I decided an off-week would be good. That week ended up being extended an extra weekend due to this trip, and I'm glad I didn't have that hanging over my head. If there is one thing I enjoyed while I lived in Atlanta, it was the food.

Got in Friday night, got my car, and headed to da Hoe to meet up with Ken and David. We hung out for an hour or so, and then headed back to their place to crash. Saturday was very laid back, with Ken not feeling too well, and myself not feeling all that ambitious. Brunch was at the Flying Biscuit in Candler Park, and it was wonderful. They've actually signed a deal to franchise the concept, and I'd love to get in on that. No money, no franchise...

After a quiet afternoon at David and Ken's, I headed up to Mac's new place near Northlake Mall. He recently had a heart attack (not a stroke, as I earlier thought), so I was glad to be able to spend some quality one-on-one time with him. He's got himself a new Great Dane puppy, so she took up some of our time, and we had dinner at Folks. So bad, and yet so good. The night was spent watching "Bewitched" (not as bad a movie as I expected), and I crashed about 11.

Next morning, I was up for a couple of hours before Mac got out of bed, so I just surfed the 'net a bit, and watched some TV. I left Mac's a little earlier than expected, and thought I might drive around a little bit, but Ty called and asked if we could move the location of brunch to Gordon Biersch. That wasn't a big deal to me, so I headed down that way, and when I found I had about 15 free minutes, I found a stray wireless connection on got online to catch up (I am loving myself SICK over my new MacBook! Check out the black one...that's mine!), and then headed to brunch. Ty and his BF Joseph were fun to hang out with, and I ended up running them around for a few errands before we crashed back at their place for an hour or so. They're both into rugby, so we watched a couple of matches they had recorded before I headed off to dinner....

...which was with Wyatt and Brent. We hit Longhorn Steakhouse, and we were joined by my friend Evan, who recently moved to Atlanta from Greensboro. It was after 8 when we got back to their place, and no one had a lot of energy, so we all crashed within an hour of our arrival. Today I had two meetings, and now I'm killing a little time before heading to the airport.

So there you have it...great weekend, great food, great weather, great friends. Who could ask for anything more?

What I'm Listening To: Christina Aguilera - Fighter

First Word That Comes To Mind: food

What I'm Currently Reading: The new Entertainment Weekly


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland