Drop It Like It's Hot

03/17/2006 - 6:44 AM

Okay...I can't let my buddy list get to the point of saying that I haven't updated in seven days, so I'm going to leave this screen up on my desktop until I fill in something worth posting.

*cue Jeopardy answer-time music*

Matt left for Indiana on Tuesday evening, so I've been flying solo for the last few days, and up until this point, it hasn't been TOO boring. Much as I hate to admit it, it's easier to stick to a diet and workout program when you're only worrying about yourself than it is when someone else is around who isn't on the same plan that you are. That's not faulting Matt...it's not his fault I let myself get to the weight that I got to. But let's be honest about this, too. If you have friends over, and you get a dessert to go with dinner, it's much more difficult to say no to it in that setting. Definitely not impossible, but truly more difficult. I need to stop cracking jokes about it and making people feel bad about my self-imposed dietary restrictions, though. All I end up doing is fostering guilt and pity in friends, and that's not my aim at all. I just want my waistline back!

So today I'm wearing a shirt that a co-worker told me six months ago that it looked like I was getting a belly. I haven't worn the shirt since then, but today I look fine in it. Yay, me!

This weekend should be kind of quiet. I�ve got plans to see my friend Bob for lunch tomorrow, and there�s a funk band that I�m supposed to check out tomorrow night (no idea yet who I�m going with), but other than that, it should be kind of laid back. We did a lot of cleaning last weekend, so there�s not too much for me to do this weekend, other than laundry, and of course cooking my meals, and probably prepping some things for during the week. I usually bake several chicken breasts in advance, so I have them to chop up and put on salads later on. However, I�m trying to stay away from salads at all costs this weekend. I need a few days away from chicken Caesar salads, or I may lose my mind.

Here�s a helpful hint that I picked up from my grandmother growing up�she would take a head of iceberg lettuce, pop out the core, and then soak it in cold water. After about 15 minutes, she would drain the water out, and then put the head in a large Ziploc bag. It keeps the lettuce fresher for a longer amount of time, which is great for me, since I�m the only one using it at the moment (Matt�s not a big Iceberg fan unless it�s all that�s available).

Matt�s been so great through all of this. We�ve been cooking at home more, and when we do go out, he definitely helps me find places where I have a better selection on the menu to choose from. I have a feeling that once he�s back from Indiana and feeling a little better, he�s going to get back in to his running, as well. We were talking last week, and I decided that I�m going to do the Bolder Boulder 10K Memorial Day weekend. I did it two years ago, but skipped it last year because they would have probably needed an ambulance to get me to the finish line. Okay�that�s an exaggeration, but you get my drift.

Alright�time to get this workday over with. Hopefully I�ll get another update in this weekend.

Original weight:228
Current weight: 213

What I'm Listening To: Stevie Wonder - Do I Do

First Word That Comes To Mind: salad

What I'm Currently Reading: Jen Trynin - Everything I'm Cracked Up To Be


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland