The Devil and the DVR

09/25/2006 - 1:13 PM

At some point on Friday, I thought that I would pull together some truly deep and revealing profile over the weekend that would really get to the core of what�s going on in my life. And then the DVR began its siren call, and my weekend kind of drifted away�

The weekend was a good one, although for some reason, I still didn�t get as much sleep as I wanted to. Despite my prediction on Friday, I actually saw my friend Billy on Friday night for dinner, and another acquaintance Saturday afternoon for lunch. I say acquaintance because it�s someone I�ve only hung out with a couple of times and the friendship doesn�t seem like it�s going to go anywhere. We went to lunch, and the conversation was okay, but a little strained. He�s the type of guy, though, who doesn�t have a problem hopping on his cell phone in the middle of a conversation and taking a call that�s obviously not that important.

I don�t know if this will sound petty or miniscule to you, but the deal-breaker came afterward, when we were going to head over to a nearby mall and hang out a little longer. I showed up at the designated location, and he was nowhere to be found. After 10 minutes or so, I gave him a call, and he said he had to make a little detour, and would be there in about 10 minutes. We agreed on another meeting place so I could look around a little bit, and I waited there for a half hour. Long story short, he still wasn�t there, and couldn�t give me a definite arrival time, so I told him I was heading home. Maybe it�s me, but I would have called as SOON as I came across the �detour�, and if I hadn�t met my own deadline, I would have called back again without having been paged first. But that�s just me�I could be wrong�

Today�s been a funky one at work, especially since we had the supervisors� meeting to get out info about the office closing. Long story short, they had a lot of answers, but not about the big questions (such as �when�). The funk that is over the office will be here for a day or so, and then it will dissipate like the last time we got news. We should get those target dates in mid-October, so once again, I�m going to try and not think about it. Much.

Matt�s flight is in the air, and it looks like he�ll get home before me today. I�m really looking forward to seeing him, and for neither of us to be traveling for the next eleven days. Ahhh�happiness is a full bed.

What I'm Listening To: Justin Timberlake - LoveStoned

First Word That Comes To Mind: when

What I'm Currently Reading: Getting caught up on my magazines


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland