Decompression

09/22/2006 - 2:31 PM

Hi, my name is John, and I have a short-attention span.

"Hi, John."

It�s the story of my life, I guess. Unless I�m FULLY engaged in what�s going on, my brain wanders more than an ugly guy in a bathhouse. Not that I�ve ever been in one (seriously, I haven�t). But it�s a vivid visual, if nothing else. Just picture someone wandering from room to room, knowing that there�s something they want there, and looking for an opportunity to drop into their lap. Or something like that�

This is an accurate description of my work history. I have two degrees; one Associates, and one Bachelors. I�ve never gotten a paycheck in the field of my studies, and I probably couldn�t even get into my field at this point, since so many people attempt to get in that it pays crap. So I have just been fortunate enough to �fall� into jobs as the years have passed. For the most part, it�s worked out. And then there are situations like this, where the changes are out of my hands. Which leads me to today�s change�

I have accepted a position in our Training department that will begin in the next few weeks. The job is perfectly suited for my outgoing personality, and will utilize my experience in multiple areas of the company. While I will miss the position I am currently in, as I helped mold it into the more project-driven job that it is, the constantly changing environment of training different aspects of the company�s workforce is very appealing to me. In an environment where every job appears to be potentially expendable, I feel like I�m hedging my bets and reducing the potential for being phased out. Also, the opportunity to work remotely at least exists with this job, while my current one would require me to relocate on the East coast, away from anywhere that Matt is considering for school.

So that�s where my life is at right now. Matt�s out of town for the weekend in Minneapolis, and I�m going to lay low. The word �vegetable� comes to mind, although I do have errands and chores to attend to. I doubt if I�ll have contact with any friends this weekend, though. If I had to pick a word to describe my plan, it would be �decompress�.

What I'm Listening To: Scissor Sisters - I Don't Feel Like Dancin'

First Word That Comes To Mind: decompress

What I'm Currently Reading: Barney Hoskyns - Hotel California


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland