To the Dearly Departed

08/07/2005 - 9:28 PM

I'd like to second Non-Descript'sdescription of Six Feet Under tonight. There was something truly moving and poetic about how Nate was committed to the ground. Having a communications/media education, I was really taken with the cinematography of it all. It was so well done it was almost distracting at times to me. When George made his comments at the memorial, the way the camera slowly, gradually zoomed in was beautiful.

I think part of the reason that I'm drawn to funerals (although I actually haven't been to many) is that it's a sort of society-sanctioned release of emotion. Taken too soon, loved by those who knew her, a true friend, loved with all his heart...those types of phrases dredge up the feelings that we keep bottled up inside, secured by the knowledge that if we share those thoughts, we'll be seen as the creepy guy at the nursing home when you go to visit your grandmother who always has just TOO MUCH to say about how wonderful she is. People enjoy compliments, but gush too much, and they get extremely squeamish.

The weekend went very well. We met up with a couple of ladies that we know through Ted and Dale, and had a great evening. Started out a new bar/restaurant in the Highlands, then walked down the street to this wonderful Italian restaurant, where I had an amazing Primavera that couldn't be beat. Ended up at this cool coffee house with a great patio, and the night couldn't have been more fun.

This morning was a lazy one, with Meet the Press and swimming on TV and the paper on my lap. Headed over to Ted and Dale's to view the pictures from the ceremony, and they presented us with a photo album of their favorites. I'd say our work is done, but I know we've got family and friends who want photos, too. After a stop at Target to drop off the disposable cameras from the ceremony (I'll tell you more about those some other time), we came back and Matt made dinner for Malcolm and I before SFU. I couldn't have asked for a much better weekend.

Still haven't decided what to do about the money play at work. Either way, the resume is being worked on, and I'm hoping to sit down with a career counselor. Just looking out for me...

What I'm Listening To: Six Feet Under theme stuck in my head

First Word That Comes To Mind: funeral

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland