Camping It Up

08/28/2005 - 5:37 PM

Back from a very successful camping trip (relaxing, enjoyable, even tasty). I've never been up to Steamboat Springs before, but now I must go back. We camped at Steamboat Lke State Park, which is actually about 26 miles outside of town, but it was wonderful. After all the driving and beautiful scenery we saw throughout the weekend, I'm entertaining fantasies of living on a ranch. Not working one, mind you, but just living there.

Maybe I'll start sounding like a crotchety old man here, but when did people decide that they could be as bawdy and loud and obnoxious at a public campground as they are at their own bawdy dinner parties? For two nights, we had to endure the screeching, the yelling, the cursing, the stock tips (?), and the bad behavior. And most of the folks had kids that I'm sure could hear this from the tents. However, when they were out trying to drown their kids, the place was very peaceful.

We were down by the water, and we heard the geese fly in flocks of what seemed like 100's in the morning. I watched crows, chipmunks and squirrels fighting over a bag of garbage (cute, eh?), and we had to slow to a crawl several times while driving near the park for cattle to slowly saunter across the road. What a great distraction.

And then we get back, and see that Katrina has become a category 5 hurricane. I can't even imagine. Maybe that's why I choose to live near the mountains, rather than the coasts. I hope there aren't any losses, but you've got to wonder if the damage is what they say it's going to be, do you really go back in and rebuild in a city that could go right back under with another storm? I'd hate to have to make that choice. Either way, our thoughts are with them.

What I'm Listening To: CNN coverage of Hurricane Katrina

First Word That Comes To Mind: camp

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland