Hey It's Good, To Be Back Home Again

09/26/2005 - 9:53 PM

Jet fuel and traffic lines
Pulling up to the Delta signs
Distant shape of my hometown
Black stain where the wheels touch down
-"Leaving", Indigo Girls

That song is Atlanta for me, even though it didn't come out until after I left. I was travelling so much for work that I was intimately familiar with Hartsfield. As you'd circle the city, waiting to land (the airport is ALWAYS backed up), I'd try to pick out where in the city the lights were. Plane to terminal, terminal to shuttle bus, shuttle bus to car, car to Smyrna, Smyrna to bed. That was how I remember Atlanta arrivals.

Denver arrivals are a bit different, and yet my high-strung airport behavior remains constant. Sometimes it works to my advantage, sometime, all it does is give me a headache. Poor Matt...he's still getting used to it. However, I have yet to ever miss a flight, so I guess it's good for something.

The trip was wonderful...just the right length of time, although it wasn't exactly restful in spots. We ran all over God's green Earth on Friday in Lexington, but getting to spend all of that quality time with Terry was worth it. Don't get me wrong...Indy and Cincinnati were great, too, but it was my personal highlight to spend a day with Terry and his friends. I wish we lived closer, but I think we'll keep the pattern going of seeing each other more often than we have in the past.

I need to get to bed...tomorrow's a long day, with both the f/t and p/t jobs awaiting me. I'll see how it goes, but you may not get another update for a couple of days.

What I'm Listening To: Sheryl Crow - Good Is Good

First Word That Comes To Mind: bed

What I'm Currently Reading: Augusten Burroughs - Dry


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland