Beat the Clock

05/12/2006 - 8:15 AM

The 10K is just over 2 weeks away, and I gave it a test-drive on the treadmill last night. I didn't start out trying to, but it just evolved into a long-distance run, and I surprised myself. My goal has been to run the 10K in under an hour. Well, I did it in an hour flat on the treadmill last night, which would already shave 14 minutes off my time from two years ago. Once you add in the momentum of the crowd carrying you during the race, and I think I'm easily there. The cool thing about this is that my legs and knees aren't bothering me nearly as much today as they did two years ago. That probably has a lot to do with the treadmill being a more cushioned surface, but it's a good sign. I'm not carrying as much weight now as I was, so that might have something to do with it, and I didn't actively train for the last one either. Needless to say, I'm feeling pretty optimistic.

My friend Marty is flying in tonight from Rochester, and he's going to stay with Matt and I for two nights. I'm looking forward to Matt getting to know him a little better, since they only met for about 2 hours a couple of years ago. Mark and I dated a LONG time ago (close to 15 years ago now), and although we haven't been really close, we've stayed in touch enough for me to still consider him a friend. It actually works out well, because he'll be in town for a conference next week too, so I may meet up with him again before he leaves. My uncle from New York City is also going to be in town next week, as well, and I'll do dinner with him next Thursday. So I definitely won't be bored while Matt's in Utah.

Okay. Just need to get through about four more hours here at work, and I'll be home free. I really need the weekend at this point.

What I'm Listening To: Bo Bice - The Real Thing

First Word That Comes To Mind: race

What I'm Currently Reading: Men's Fitness magazine


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland