Back Home

06/22/2005 - 8:40 PM

There's no place like home...there's no place like home...

I've missed it here. The new digs just weren't the same. Cool layout, but it wasn't quite me. I've always felt that I AM the guy on the hill (those who know me personally will get the joke), and for all intents and purposes, it is me.

Maybe it's this flu that I have, or maybe it's the impending Happy Occasion (exactly one month from tomorrow) that's got me introspective, but now, more than ever, I need my journal.

Matt and I sat down with the minister last night to discuss the actual ceremony itself, and I left the church almost two hours later in a euphoric glow. Talking about Matt and why I want to spend the rest of my life with him just makes me giddy. He's the peaceful face I see in the early AM as I get ready for work, the spirited debater that brings out the best of what I feel are slipping oratorical skills, the "live for the moment" voice that reminds me that we only go around once in this skin, and the hand that brushes my arm as I lay asleep, easily two hours before he joins me.

I GET this ceremony now. It's not for anyone other than ourselves, and yet it's for everyone. Not just for those we invited, but anyone we come into contact with, whether for a moment or a lifetime. There's a ring that says "I found him", a scrapbook of the path to get here, and hopefully a LOT of rolls of film to say "we are loved". I'm in heaven.

The guest count is pushing 100, which is blowing my mind. Not only are my folks and my brother comng (the sister-in-law has to stay behind and mind the business), but two uncles are also bringing their wife/partner, and friends are coming from NY, KY, GA, TX and NC, not to mention the states that Matt's guests will travel from. That's a lot of love to squish into one church.

I promise I will blog more. I've said it before, with mixed results, but I will this time. I really need this, and besides that, I've missed you guys. I hope you know who you are.

What I'm Listening To: Destiny's Child - Cater 2 U

First Word That Comes To Mind: Bliss

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland