Asleep at Work

09/17/2004 - 3:29 PM

I am sitting in my cubicle, doing everything short of pinching myself to stay awake, but it doesn�t seem to be working. There�s only 15 minutes left here at work, and then I�m free, but the five hours of sleep I got last night just isn�t cutting it. I�d better watch out when I get on the bus, or I might miss my stop. As we all know, John�s been known for ending up in other towns and counties when riding the bus�

Work is approaching a �do-or-die� moment, where I have to either get promoted or find a new job. I have exhausted every potential source of money to hold me through, and I need to find one that doesn�t stress me out so much. The p/t job isn�t going to start up on a regular basis until October, and I just won�t make it that long.

The reason I�m so tired this morning is a show on VH-1 entitled �Bands Reunited�. A camera crew runs around the world, tracking down the members of old 80s groups and attempts to get them to play a one-time show. This is right up my alley�particularly the back-stories of why the groups broke up in the first place. Last night was the Motels (�Only the Lonely�), and then New Kids On the Block. I didn�t get to see the whole NKOTB show, since it was past 11 o�clock, but I really wanted to find out what happened. Jonathan was always my favorite (hit the gaydar pretty hard), but I didn�t get that far into it.

Speaking of the New Kids, I actually met Jordan about five years ago when he was promoting his first solo release, and the boy was a jerk. At one point during the in-store appearance (I was helping out with running it), he got frustrated because he wanted to leave, but his reps wanted him to do one more thing. He starts singing some old spiritual-sounding song about being in chains, and I lost all respect (if I had any) for him at that moment. These folks are trying to help sell YOUR records and support YOUR career, and you�re gonna act like that? Punk.

Okay�time to get out of here and catch the bus. Catch y�all later�

What I'm Listening To: Arcadia - Election Day

First Word That Comes To Mind: tired

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland