So, How Was YOUR Weekend?

08/25/2003 - 10:09 AM

So now that everyone has new names (except for Matt and myself), where do I begin? So much drama, so little time...

Friday night actually went really well. Matt and I joined Jane at her new girlfriend Patty's place for dinner, and it was excellent. Patty is an amazing cook, and the food was outstanding. Highlights for the evening included an incredible cucumber/tomato salad, and this unbelieveable homemade peach ice cream, with strawberries from the garden and a delicious semi-sweet chocolate sauce drizzled over it. YUMMMMMMMY! Jane seems like she's just completely head over heels for Patty, and I couldn't be happier for her.

Saturday started out with a workout with Tom, and then some errands and stuff around the house. Once again, Matt was out doing stuff with Cedric, and they ended up being late. Cedric has this natural ability to keep pushing people's deadlines to the point that they end up being late. I don't know if it's a control issue, or simply his need to know that people are modifying their plans on his account, but it's still annoying. Matt's definitely learned his lesson of trying to hang with Cedric right up to the point where he has plans with someone else.

I actually got a little sore with Matt over a couple of things, but it was really minor. Turns out that I forgot the tickets for Nickel Creek, and I needed to run home really quick to get them. As I was walking out the door, he mentioned something about vinagrette from the store, so me being the dutiful boyfriend, I picked it up on the way, putting myself even further behind schedule. When I finally got back to his place, he had already finished making dinner, and it hadn't dawned on him that I would ACTUALLY stop for the dressing. Being as obsessive about being on schedule as I can be, I was pretty steamed over the whole thing, but I just let it go. We're still learning about each other, and I think he's learning that when I'm asked to do something, I do it. And I'm learning that sometimes he'll just throw a thought out for consumption, but it's open to debate.

Dinner was good, and we were on our way to the show. Nickel Creek was very disappointing. I actually liked the opening act better for overall consistency than I did Nickel Creek, but that was more because they are getting more experimental in the way they play their bluegrass music. My favorite song of theirs wasn't even played, and that was TRULY disappointing. Oh well...

Stayed at Matt's that night, and then planned on going to the gym early Sunday morning with Tom again. Matt, for only the second time in five months, awoke enough to, um, keep me in bed for an extra half hour. I barely made it to the gym on time, but it was SOOOOO worth it.

After running home and getting things in order, I started to find out the details of what transpired the night before with Malcolm and Cedric. Turns out that they had a huge blow-out (alcohol-induced, of course), and that they never wanted to see each other again. Cedric had slept with someone else, and Malcolm had been verbally abusive. Drama, drama, drama..

I picked up Matt, and we had brunch with Malcolm and his friend Samm. A woman was actually removed from the restaurant on a stretcher while we ate (that's appealing), and that just added to the weirdness of the day. We left the pancake place to head down to Colorado Springs, when I realized that I had forgotten the tickets for that, too. I'm not sure where I left my brain this weekend, but it obviously wasn't in my head. After a drive BACK to the northern suburbs, it was off to the Springs.

Garden of the Gods is one of my favorite places in Colorado, and we went there to hike around and just spend some quiet quality time together. As we took in the scenery, there was a guy jogging around the park that had his own type of scenery going on. I love the fact that we both are mature enough to realize that other people will be attractive to us, and there's nothing wrong with that. Matt actually confided that he would worry much more if a person he was with met someone that had even more in common with that person, and I can completely see that. Personally, attraction is FAR more about the person beneath the skin, not just the appearance above the surface, so we're on the same page, once again.

Ate dinner at a great BBQ place called Red Hot and Blue, and then headed down to the Alison Krauss concert, which was absolutely amazing. Two hours of musical bliss...definitely made up for the night before. The drive back was rainy but okay, and we made it back to Matt's place by 11:00, just in time for one more round of hot man-on-man action before we drifted off to sleep.

This would be SO much easier if I did the entries every day, wouldn't it? Instead, I'm here at work, juggling the tasks of the day while trying to get this all typed up. All in a day's work...

What I'm Listening To: Jo Dee Messina - Bring On the Rain

First Word That Comes To Mind: drama

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland