Hangin' in Oxford OH

09/18/2006 - 8:15 AM

Greetings from Oxford, Ohio, first stop on the Matt and John Collegiate Tour 2006. Matt is in meetings with professors, so I am wandering around the town, trying to get a lay of the land. So far, it has a little more than I would have expected. Let's put it this way...it's consistent to an minimally-equipped suburb of a big city. As I got to the edge of town, the mileage to Cincinnati was listed as 35 miles, and I know Dayton is even closer. So there wouldn't be an issue with getting to some of the stores I'm used to frequenting in Denver, but it will take a little more planning.

Whether or not we actually end up here is a different scenario. I don't really see any other industry here besides retail, the college, and the construction going on at the college. So job prospects and the potential of keeping the same income I currently bring home would be tough at best. As I've stated before, I want to give Matt the opportunity to look at all of the schools that he's interested in, but we still will need to provide living expenses for the next four or so years no matter where we end up, so it's a tough line to walk. At least one of the schools that he's spoken with so far has indicated that they could possibly help spouses/partners find employment if it helps get them to accept, but I'd rather not bank on something like that. The tour, however, rolls on. Tomorrow's stop will be in East Lansing.

(By the way...my hosts screen has been telling me that I've been having a regular reader in Europe. If you wouldn't mind, say "Hi" in the Guestbook and let me know where you're at. Just curious...)

What I'm Listening To: Emerson Drive - A Better Man

First Word That Comes To Mind: college

What I'm Currently Reading: Barney Hoskyns - Hotel California


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland