2005 in Review

01/05/2006 - 8:51 AM

I went into work this morning, but promptly turned around when I looked in the mirror and saw what looks like pink eye. Just what I didn't need today. So I'm heading to the eye doctor in a bit, but in the meantime, here's a questionaire that huntington used a couple of years ago, and it's good to give me a bit of a benchmark for the year, so here goes...(from the editor...response #6 was incorrectly filled out the first time around, but that has been fixed. Also, the brackets are a tribute to dear huntington)

[1. What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?
Got hitched.]

[2. Did you keep your New Years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
No, and I already have (lose weight, get in shape, get by without the p/t job)]

[3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope, although at least one of Matt�s acquaintances did]

[4. Did anyone close to you die?
No]

[5. What countries did you visit?
Just a lot of traveling in the US (GA, IN, NY)]

[6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
A clearer sense of what I'm going to be when I grow up!]

[7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
July 23rd�the day that Matt and I committed ourselves to each other.]

[8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Making it through July 23rd.]

[9. What was your biggest failure?
Not getting back into shape like I promised myself I would a year ago.]

[10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Several nasty colds, and some stupid back pain, but that�s about it.]

[11. What was the best thing you bought?
Truthfully, the purchase that stands out most in my mind is the box set I got for Matt for Christmas. Everything else is just a blue (except maybe the Calvin and Hobbes set I got for myself a few months ago.)]

[12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Wow�I think this is the year of the parents. Matt�s folks regularly told me they loved me, and that they wished they could see more of me than they do, and my mom, whose progress has been nothing short of amazing. Matt and I actually got to sleep in the same bed when we went to Syracuse, if that tells you anything. Honorable mention goes to all the people I came out to as a result of the ceremony, for not freaking out.]

[13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
An old co-worker in Atlanta, who never wrote back after I came out to her, and several people I had considered friends who never even took the time to respond to the invite for the ceremony, let alone attend.]

[14. Where did most of your money go?
The ceremony�it�s still going there.]

[15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The ceremony, although I guess I was a bit subdued about it, too. Brokeback Mountain was also highly anticipated (see next entry for more details on that)]

[16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
Kanye West � Gold Digger]

[17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
I. Happier or sadder? Happier
II. Thinner or fatter? Fatter
III. Richer or poorer? Definitely poorer.]

[18. What do you want to do more of in 2006?
Working out, cooking, curling up on the couch with Matt, travel.]

[19. What do you wish you'd done less of in 2005?
Being jealous of other people�s situations, eating more than I was hungry for.]

[20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Spent the actual day with my folks and some aunts and uncles in Syracuse. Matt and I celebrated it on New Years Eve, and spent it eating shrimp, opening gifts, and watching ABBA videos.]

[22. Did you fall in love in 2005?
I fell more in love�does that count?]

[23. How many one-night stands?
None]

[24. What was your favorite TV program?
It�s a coin toss between House and Grey�s Anatomy]

[25. Do you hate anyone now who you didn't hate this time last year?
No�can�t say I hate anyone because of this year. However, there are several people that are no longer a part of my life because of the ceremony snub listed above.]

[26. What was the best book you read?
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince]

[27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Wow�not as many as I�m used to finding, but a couple to note: Keith Anderson, Natasha Bedingfield, and Leelah James]

[28. What did you want and get?
A partner who�s my equal�not leading, nor following, but walking alongside.]

[29. What did you want and not get?
An impeachment?]

[30. What was your favorite film of this year?
No question�Serenity]

[31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 36, and I�m drawing a complete blank on my birthday.]

[32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
If Matt�s dad had been able to make it to the ceremony]

[33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
Vertical stripes]

[34. What kept you sane?
Matt]

[35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Probably Jake Gyllenhaal]

[36. What political issue stirred you the most?
All of the Republican corruption that came to light]

[37. Who did you miss?
Huntington]

[38. Who was the best new person you met?
My co-worker AD]

[39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005
Commitment ceremonies bring out the best and worst in people]

[40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
�Cause you dance, in my head, in my heart, in my everything
You belong]

More up-to-date updates later...

What I'm Listening To: eastmountainsouth - You Dance

First Word That Comes To Mind: recap

What I'm Currently Reading: Men's Fitness


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland