What Has This World Come To?

08/15/2003 - 6:43 PM

As promised...my second entry of the day. I don't know how theraputic it will be, but it will be very cathartic, as I am truly wondering what the HELL is going on with the world these days.

-California, you are a strange and unique beast, and I am in awe, though not always for the right reasons. I don't have a problem with recalls, particularly if the bar is high enough to justify the vote, but what's up with the sideshow...no, freakshow is a much better word...that's going on as I type? When Gary Coleman, Larry Flint and almost 250 other candidates are running for governor, either it's a sign of the apocalypse, or at the very least, the end of civilization as WE know it. What's my opinion? Maybe Ahnold should have hired the advisers BEFORE he entered the race, not afterward. Just an opinion...

-As much as I was in awe of the pictures of New York completely dark, it's just way too creepy with what NYC went through almost two years ago. Would someone PLEASE cut this poor city a break? Sheesh!

-And then Dubya says that he's been advocating a complete modernization of the energy grid. Did I miss something? Could someone please point me toward the policy paper with this pressing public matter? I must have still been rolling around on the floor, laughing at the vision of the President in full combat aviator attire.

-The Episcopal church was THIS close to electing its first openly gay Bishop, and then at LITERALLY the last minute, a man comes forward to say he was touched inappropriately by the bishop-elect, and everything gets put on hold. Turns out the supposed pervert touched the guy on the shoulder at a gathering of several hundred people. I know there's supposed to be forgiveness and understanding when you reach that level, but man, I'd be thinking about a lawsuit to teach that good ol' boy a lesson about crying wolf!

-Despite everything else that I've listed here, the most outrageous piece of news in the last week comes from Fox News Channel. They're suing Al Franken for using the word combination "fair and balanced" in the title of his upcoming book (which I will now buy the day it comes out). It's one thing to file a lawsuit for copyright infringement, but it's a completely different thing to turn it into character assassination, as FNC went on the attack in their complaint. To Mr. Franken's credit, his statement responding to the lawsuit is one of the funniest rebuttals to a lawsuit I think I've ever read. Al is probably writing a check to Bill O'Reilley at this very moment to thank him for the free publicity, as the book bounced to #4 on Amazon.com as the news of the lawsuit came out. (Oops...just went to Amazon, and it's now #3. Go Al...it's yer birthday!)

Sorry for the rant. I've just been so OFF this week, and I just felt like I needed to get some stuff off my chest. Tonight is a ME night...no Matt, no CW, no TW, no nobody but me, myself and I. Among the truly exciting things I will be doing are laundry, dusting, vacuuming, and a hot bath where I will dive in to book 4 of Harry Potter. Tomorrow morning will be the gym first, then, sadly, a few hours at the office, where NO ONE will be there to bother me. Pitiful, but true.

What I'm Listening To: Michael Jackson - Butterflies

First Word That Comes To Mind: angst

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland