And It's Off To the Rodeo

07/19/2003 - 9:42 PM

This ain't my first time at the rodeo...well, actually it's my third, but who's counting?

TW and I, in an attempt to spend some truly quality time together, hopped in the car and drove up to Wyoming to take in the Cheyenne Frontier Days, an event known as "the Daddy of 'em all" in rodeo circles. Bareback broncs, bull riding, barrel racing...I always have a great time going to the rodeo, even though I've never been on a horse before (one of at least three things I mentioned today that Tom replied "you've never DONE that?" to). TW and I have a mutual razzing relationship, but without a doubt, TW is the master, and I am merely a student living in the presence of greatness. My only consolation in this is that he uses his razor-sharp humor as something to hide behind, as he is really insecure at times, and this helps hide that insecurity.

We really had a great time, though. TW had never been to a rodeo, but I think he's hooked. After the events were over for the day, we headed out to the midway, and I was off on a mission. I HAD to win something stuffed for Matt! So we put down a couple of bucks at the water pistols, and I won two games in a row, which got me a mini-Spongebob Squarepants. I'm pretty sure he's going to like it, along with the Cheyenne shotglass and Wyoming snowglobe I got him. Yeah, yeah, yeah...I get a little carried away, but you only live once.

Speaking of the shotglass, I have actually been buying him glasses for a few months now as I've been traveling more. So far, I've gotten him Cleveland, Chicago, Sacramento, and Cheyenne, as well as a Syracuse University glass in thanks for helping me root them onto a National Championship. He probably would have picked something else for me to collect, like magnets, but it was a spur-of-the-moment decision the first time I bought one, and I'm sticking by it.

Alright...I'm headed to bed here. I barely slept six hours last night, thinking that some zombie with a virus was going to attack and infect me last night until well after midnight. A well-done scary movie is great to watch, but my insecurities from my childhood about the creature lurking in the darkness always come to the surface. Some things never change, even when we know better...

What I'm Listening To: Pet Shop Boys - Love Comes Quickly

First Word That Comes To Mind: Tired

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland