Filling the Voids

07/16/2003 - 11:50 AM

Life without Ashton has been bizarre the past few days. Not really in a sad, John-can't-stop-crying way, but more like a void exists at home. From the moment I pull out my keys and don't hear him meowing on the other side of the door, it takes a minute to adjust. I will get up from my computer, go get something to drink, and then sit back down awkwardly, since I'm used to having to make sure I don't step on him. If I take a shower, he's not sitting on the toilet seat, waiting for me to play with him or feed him. This morning, I had to pull out the vacuum to clean up something I spilled, and there were three drinking straws laying in the closet, probably from him losing them under the door. And for the first time in who knows how long, I actually overslept yesterday. I never overslept with Ashton waking me between 5 & 6 AM. I will adjust, but it's going to take a little time.

Matt's leaving for Indiana tomorrow, so I've got a weekend of trying to catch up with folks that I haven't seen for one reason or another. TW and I are going to do dinner on Friday, and he's going to bring along a guy he's dated a few times. Maybe a movie after that...who knows. I'd really like to see SB at some point as well, but not sure if I want to make a road trip up to Greeley to do so.

Had dinner with AM last night, and really enjoyed catching up. We chat regularly, but only seem to see each other every month or so. Poor guy...went to the doctor yesterday, and the doctor suggested that maybe he should try Weight Watchers or something like that. That's a pretty harsh blow to the self-confidence, but he's taking it in stride. He tried to do Atkins with me last year, but didn't last too long on it. Hopefully this will help him get back down to a healthier weight.

Working with the boss is going well so far...no conflicts, and I think our alliance has been strengthened over the past few days. Let's hope that continues...

What I'm Listening To: Black Eyed Peas - Where Is the Love

First Word That Comes To Mind: stuff

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland