A Promise To Keep (Or NOT Keep)

07/12/2003 - 10:56 AM

Quiet morning...Ash and I have just hung out, watching a little TV, playing with his straws, keeping Ash from eating my breakfast...the usual. Hit the gym at 7 this morning, and I'm feeling pretty good.

I'm stalling on taking Ash over to Laura's, as I just can't bear to part with him. As I type, he's playing with one of his straws at my feet under the desk. He's just so damn sweet, and I can't help but feel like I've failed him by not keeping him. This situation is made even worse by my history with cats...I had one in Greensboro that ran away (or that's what I've convinced myself he did), and then there was Spicey and Smokey, who I gave up when I moved to Denver. Since I didn't even know where I was going to live, I just couldn't drag them through all of that, so they ended up with my friend JB.

So I made a promise to myself this morning...no more pets until I'm in a job where I don't travel, or I'm living with someone who will be around enough to take care of that pet. I won't go through this again.

Since the trip to NC got cancelled, Matt and I are taking a friend of his up on her offer of staying at her boyfriend's place in Vail tonight. It's a short drive from Denver, and I probably would have stayed at his house tonight anyway, so I think it'll be a good trip. Considering what a great time we had the last time we went up to the mountains, I'm looking forward to it.

Ash is biting at my ankles...time to play again. Catch ya later...

What I'm Listening To: Andrea Martin - The Best of Me

First Word That Comes To Mind: cat

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland