You Did WHAT?

07/01/2003 - 12:38 PM

I feel like shit. The woman whom I replaced when I started this new job is livid with me, and I can't say that I blame her.

As I've gone through this training period, I've needed to access files that she has on her personal drive. The access hasn't been the issue...it's been more of the . After a few days of getting grief from my boss for files I didn't have, I copied the folder that I was allowed access to into a folder that I could get easier access to. Unfortunately, that folder is out in a public area (which didn't dawn on me), and she was concerned that people were able to see things about her personal finances with the company that they wouldn't have access to otherwise.

She conceded that she shouldn't have been as upset about it as she was, but in my mind, the damage was done. Man...I feel like a schmuck right now. Add to that the fact that I was already feeling kind of off today, and it's not going too well today.

The insecurities are just bubbling up to the surface today. Lately, I've been developing a bit of an inferiority complex around Matt, and my pride doesn't help the situation at all. I consider myself an intelligent person, but I'm not necessarily "well-read". I read occasionally, and I keep up with current events, but I'm not driven to continually devour more information like other people I know. Matt, on the other hand, is extremely well-read, and opinionated, to boot. Put those two factors together, and I occasionally find myself either becoming defensive or detached, depending on the situation. I need to deal with this now, before it becomes an issue in how I interact with Matt.

One good thing is that my "Summer O' Concerts" continues tonight with Tracy Chapman. I'm getting to see all of these people that I've always wanted to see live, and it's just been too cool. Still to come this summer is James Taylor, Alison Krauss, and Nickel Creek. I actually saw Alison on the "Down from the Mountain" tour last summer, but have never seen her and Union Station at one of their own shows. Talk about a mellow music mix!

Alright...I need to get back to work. Maybe I can slip under the desk for a few minutes of sleep. Or not...

What I'm Listening To: Rascal Flatts - This Everyday Love

First Word That Comes To Mind: ugh

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland