What Time Is Dinner?

06/21/2003 - 2:47 PM

Why is it that I can give good advice to friends, but never follow the advice myself? I have never quite understood that, but it continues. For example...

I was online this morning when Matt said hi, and I asked him about the dinner plans this evening. Right now, I'm wishing I'd made a copy of the dialogue, because I'm not quite sure where it went wrong, but it did. He said that they were going for an 8:00 reservation, to which I responded that I normally don't like to eat that late, but I know that is going to work for the rest of the group, and I could handle it. Long story short, when he said we should change it, I said I was okay with it, and then he called me passive aggressive. I told him I was just letting him know for future reference (being proactive is what I think I said), and then the conversation about us being able to work around the morning/night person thing came up, and I got upset. It's still lingering out there, and we need to talk face to face before we go to dinner this evening.

So what advice didn't I follow? To never have conversations like that online. You lose so much in the translation...facial expressions, inflection in voice, tone...and things often get twisted as a result. Add to it the fact that we've never had a disagreement like that in person, much less online, and neither of us know how the other person reacts in a certain situation. So it was a bad call, but I got caught up in the flow, and didn't recognize it in time.

I won't lie that I've had major concerns about the time differences. I've barely worked out during the week the past few months, and I'm really feeling it. Our sex life has also been rather sparse, since we're rarely in sync in that department, either. From the way the conversation went today, I gather that Matt's not really up for compromise on this, and that concerns me. Of course, my instinct to take the easy way out kicks in and says, "you've had your doubts...here's your chance to make a run for it!" My rational mind is screaming that it's no big deal, and I need to balance the two out and keep an open mind. I know we're still dating, and these are the types of things you date for. You're trying to find a compatibility level with someone else. All I can tell you right now is that I'm a)confused, b)upset, c)confused.

Yeah...that about covers it...

What I'm Listening To: Monica - So Gone

First Word That Comes To Mind: frustration

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland