Our Time In Paradise

06/07/2003 - 10:28 PM

As promised, though closer to the wire than I'd prefer, here's part one of the recap from the last week...

The weekend got off to a nasty start, as I pulled a muscle in my shoulder while I was weight-lifting with TD. Having only an hour or so before I was supposed to pick up Matt, I called up KM, and he squeezed me in for a quick 15 minute rubdown to work out the worst of the kinks. It still hurt whenever I moved my neck, but at least I was able to turn my head to look at the mirrors on either side of the car (essential if you're going to drive into the mountains).

Let KM's house and picked up Matt for our weekend away in the Rockies. After we grabbed an early lunch, we headed up I-70, just chatting and enjoying the scenery. Matt got an advanced copy of Annie Lennox's new CD Bare (which is amazing), and it really set the mood. We stopped to get some Advil for me in hopes of taking the edge off my ache, and when we got back on the road, we missed the turn for Grand Lake, and went about 30 miles before we realized said mistake. Fortunately, my photographic memory for directions had kicked in, and an atlas in the back seat didn't hurt, either. Got to drive along a good section of the Colorado River, though. I would love to do a trip someday that just follows the river and see what it goes through.

With our backtracking done, we were back on track for Rocky Mountain National Park, and the weather cleared up to cooperate just in the nick of time. There are entrances to the Park on the east and west sides, and they both have their appeals. Grand Lake is on the west side, and it is much more lush and green than the eastern side, which is not nearly as green, but still beautiful in its own way. As we headed up Trail Ridge Road (the highest continuous paved road in the Continental United States), it just got more and more beautiful. The sun was out, the sky was just bluer than blue, and the snow still on the ground (and quite high in spots), combines for an unspeakable effect.

[Side note...as I'm typing this entry, Ashton is flushing out moths from what is supposedly one of the worst moth seasons this region has seen in years. I know they're more or less harmless, but they creep me out, so as they hit my monitor screen, I need to dispose of them. In response to their ability to get up on the ceiling, Ash has learned how to get up on my dresser to get closer to them. He's fallen off at least twice in his quest.]

How I would love to be somewhere in public, as we were at the top of the Continental Divide, and be able to hold Matt's hand or hang on him as we look down among the peaks and valleys, but I find myself getting a quick brush of the hand or a wink to hold me over until we get back to the car. The view, without a doubt, was amazing, especially when you consider that a week earlier, the road up to that spot wasn't even accessible to the general public, due to the snow that keeps it closed until the end of May. We were going to stop at Alberta Falls and hike in to the woods a bit, but the realization that Matt hadn't brought boots kept us from exerting ourselves too much in the park.

The Inn I normally stay at was as quality an establishment as it normally is. It's not a fancy place at all, but it serves its purpose. The interior reminds me of a cabin instead of a hotel room, and the view off the balcony makes it worth every dollar. I love asking the couple that runs the place about hiking trails to take or restaurants to eat at, and their recommendations are always on-point.

We ate dinner next door, then headed into Estes Park to walk around and do a little shopping. I actually kept a promise to myself from last year and bought a new cowboy hat at Colorado Hats. Although I've had a few that were handed down to me, I've never bought my own, and I'm extremely pleased with my eventual choice. If you don't mind, I'm going to say I looked damn good in it! The purchase couldn't be more well-timed, either, since I'm going to see Chris Cagle on the 28th, and may even get to meet him before the show. I'm almost drooling thinking about that possibility...

Did I happen to mention the quickie before we went to dinner? It was good for me, and I gathered it was for him, too. Matt seems to LOVE the intimacy we have, and that makes me so happy. I don't always see it, but the intensity on his face makes it so worthwhile.

After several hours of walking around town, we headed back to the hotel for the night, and sat out on the patio, looking out at the twilight fading behind the western peaks, and really enjoying each other's company. Round two in bed was even more passionate than the afternoon festivities, and sleep was extremely blissful.

We headed back to Denver the next morning, but not before making a quick pit-stop in Longmont for one of the best Cajun/Creole meals I've ever had. We ran a few errands, stopped by CW's, and then went to a birthday party that evening. By the time 10pm rolled around, I was worn out, but it was so worth it.

Damn...all of that, and it only covered two days of update. I'll get to the rest in the next day or so, but I'd be remiss in not including this...I used the "L" word on Saturday night with Matt. Part of it was being caught up in the passion of the moment (the evening passion, that is), but it's been lingering around for a few weeks now. How schizophrenic must I come off when one minute I'm contemplating ending the relationship all together, and the next I'm professing my love? If it's not obvious, I'm definitely riding this ride. A friend of mine at work really put it into perspective when she said that we seem to always be pursuing "the future", when our bliss and ecstacy lays in the present. I'm paraphrasing, but I think you get the drift. So I'm living for the moment and letting it take me where it will.

More tomorrow...

What I'm Listening To: Depeche Mode - It's No Good

First Word That Comes To Mind: Typing

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland