The Lesser of Two Evils

05/24/2003 - 11:28 PM

I'm torn where to begin...do I go with the possible deceit of a friend, or do I explore the old but reliable thought pattern that threatens to destroy every relationship I end up in? I'm thinking I don't really feel like beating myself up tonight, so I'll go with the deceit angle.

CW's ex's parents have been in town for the last few days on vacation, and I've been helping them out with tips on where to go and things to see. I had my apprehensins about this, especially since CW and his ex had only broken up recently. To my surprise, there seemed to be no animosity at all, and we actually got along great. So well, in fact, that they invited me to have dinner with them this evening.

We spent the evening along the 16th Street Mall, having dinner at Dixon's, and then wandering around, pointing out some of the more notable landmarks in downtown Denver. As we walked, we started talking about CW's move, and then the word "they" was being used by SG's mom (SG is CW's ex) instead of "he".

Um...okay.

I have a very bad feeling about this. Here's the theory I'm working with at the moment...when CW told me he broke up with SG, and then broke the news about moving, I am thinking that he didn't tell SG that they were breaking up, and that he is keeping SG hanging on until he can get all his stuff out of the house and moved to Denver. Pretty sneaky, sis!

Believe me...I am all about someone removing themselves from an unhealthy situation, but a lie of this magnitude would take death threats to justify (at least in my mind). As of this evening, I know of none on CW, but I'm not in his head so it's impossible to know this for sure. I would bet money against SG making a threat on CW's life, though. At least a legitimate, rational threat. What he yells in the heat of the moment, I have NO idea about.

Do I confront what I think I know, or do I stay out of it? CW looks to me for guidance, and at one point, he did say he felt bad about "what he was doing to (SG)", although I didn't think it was THIS type of situation. I figured it was just giving SG the impression that maybe they could get back together. Never would I have thought that CW would lie to SG, and then use him to help fix up the house so that it could be sold. And even though it's a lie of omission (that he's told everyone except his partner that he's broken up with his partner), it's still a lie.

*Sigh*

I'll get to my shortcomings in the relationship department tomorrow...I promise.

What I'm Listening To: Usher - U Got It Bad (2-Step Remix)

First Word That Comes To Mind: Forthcoming

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland