Safe In the Arms of America

05/07/2003 - 8:11 PM

Second entry for the day, but one that must be discussed...

The Muppets belong to Henson Productions again, and I, for one, am relieved.

What kind of blasphemy was it to take the hallmark of my childhood, and sell it to a German broadcast company? EVERYONE knows that the Muppets only speak English and Spanish! The only reason I had ANY aptitude in my junior high Spanish class is because I had learned the alphabet, the numbers 1-20, as well as open and close in Spanish from Sesame Street. And how many times did I make a group of friends laugh by quoting dialogue ("Mahna mahna!") from the Muppet Show? My impersonation of the Sweedish Chef used to be KILLER, and I bet it's still not too bad.

TW and I left the Dean Meetup early this evening, mainly out of frustration. I think there are some very well-intentioned folks showing up for these meetings, but there are also some with very extreme views who are turning the group into a personal crusade. Since Colorado doesn't have a primary, we are not seen as a priority to the campaign, but our help is still needing, even if that's only in the form of traveling to an early primary/caucus state. While that's a great thought, most people don't have the luxury to leave the state for a week at a time to help run a phone bank in Des Moines or Concord, so a lot of people are frustrated about WHAT they can do to help (besides making another monetary donation to the cause).

One person said there's evidence that Jeb Bush won the election in 2002 because of rigged voting machines. Another guy in the back of the crowd was handing out "counterfeit money for a counterfeit president". The peace movement, Planned Parenthood, a Democratic reform group, and a couple partnered in Vermont all had their opinions to share. I'm just fearful of Dean being viewed as too radical because of these folks, even though I think he's pretty fiscally moderate. Either way, I will continue to tell people about his campaign, and why I intend to vote for someone with something to say that hasn't been focus-grouped to death.

I know it's a radical idea...a politician speaking his or her mind. Who knew it could happen?

What I'm Listening To: Dannii Minogue - Put the Needle On It

First Word That Comes To Mind: Liberation

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland