And Our Sermon For Today Is...

03/30/2003 - 8:37 PM

Is the planet just completely off of its axis these days, or what? I cannot recall a time in my adult life where I just felt so completely out of the norm and isolated for what I believe, and it has nothing to do with my sexuality. Yes, kids...John's finally going to go off on a rant about the war in Iraq and the loss of civil liberties, all in one entry.

Actually, there's no rant here. My whole grasp around the situation is that anyone who speaks out against the war is now considered un-American, and I have a hard time understanding that. But it's a mob mentality in times like these, and the mob is all about the red, white and blue at the moment, which I don't think is a bad thing. I have no trust that we're doing this for the right reasons, but I hold the Democrats who rolled over and played dead most responsible for not expecting a little accountability, or even some proof about why we're doing what we're doing. Is that so much to ask?

So who are my heroes right now? Surprisingly, it's not Michael Moore, who had the perfect opportunity to say something that would help sway people, but instead inflamed the situation even more. It's not Natalie Maines from the Dixie Chicks, who has a lot of people listening to what she says, and completely squandered any chance of them listening by making a bonehead comment in another country. My heroes right now are the people who realize that this is the media age, and your message has to be savvy and speak to the people in a language they can understand. For me, the best example of that received a link at the bottom of the page. If it even remotely sounds like you have similar feelings on the current political client, please check out Gov. Dean's website, and think about making a change.

I'll leave you with Governor Dean's closing statement at the California State Democratic Convention. I think this sums it all up...

"I want my country back! We want our country back! I am tired of being divided! I don't want to listen to the fundamentalist preachers anymore. I want America to look like America, where we are all included, hand in hand. We have a dream. We can only reach the dream if we are all together - black and white, gay and straight, man and woman. America! The Democratic Party! We are going to win in 2004! Thank you very much. Thank you very much. Stand up for America, Stand up for America, Stand up for America."

What I'm Listening To: Paul Oakenfold mix

First Word That Comes To Mind: Conflict

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland