Another Action-Packed Weekend

03/10/2003 - 5:52 AM

Slept in just a little bit too long this morning to go to the gym, and not quite long enough to kick into my regular morning routine, so I get to make a journal entry instead...

Weekend was really good. Started out going dancing with AM Friday night, and we had a good time, as always. I love to dance, but why must dance clubs be so damn smoky here in Denver? Hopefully some reasonable people will prevail, and this smoke-free ordinance will come into existence. I actually signed a petition for that here in my neck of the woods, too (I live just outside of Denver, so I don't count toward their petitions).

Saturday consisted of working out with TD, goofing off a little bit later in the morning, and then heading out to Fat City with TW and his sister's family. Talk about sensory overload...in one building, they have skating, bumper cars, miniature golf, bowling, laser tag, a funhouse, and enough video and ticket games to keep 10 arcades in business. Of couse I didn't want to disappoint anyone, so I was an active participant, and the kids all had a blast. (Note to self...the reason you were so good at Missile Command when you were a kid was because you played it 1-2 hours a day EVERY day)

Spent a decent part of the weekend looking for a new winter coat. Unfortunately, the sales got too good, and everyone else got out looking before me, so all that's left (in jackets I would wear, anyway) are smalls and XXLs. My luck, don'tcha know? I don't really need one, but I'm not crazy about the one I have, so that's why I can only justify paying a small amount for it.

The weather was way too nice here in Denver for me to stay inside all day, so I went up to Flagstaff Mountain outside of Boulder and hiked. What a great day out! Here I was, hiking in shorts and a light jacket (which ended up being tied around my waist) through trails that were occasionally snow-covered and scenery that was simply incredible. I hope I never take the life I live here in Denver for granted...I'm so lucky to be here and to experience all of this amazing beauty.

Started tanning again yesterday. With the trip to Atlanta the end of this week, and then Fort Lauderdale in two weeks for work, I decided I need some base back in my skin. Besides, if I'm going to look studly by June, then I don't want this studliness to be stuck on pasty skin. So I got the three-month package. ;-)

Had a rather disturbing incident with SG last night online. To introduce, SG is a friend that I've chatted with almost since I got here, but we've only met in person twice. He's a unique person in many ways, and although I don't understand where he's coming from a lot of the time, I still find myself drawn to him, so we chat on a regular basis.

I have a program that enhances AOL 8.0 when I'm chatting, and until yesterday, I didn't have a version that was compatible with 8.0. Installed it last night, and saw SG online in a chatroom, so I sent a message cracking a joke. It didn't seem like it sent, so I hit return a few more times, and then gave up, thinking it still didn't work. Well, it did. Too well. SG was LIVID that I had flooded him with a comment about finding someone online, and I was trying to apologize, but he wasn't hearing it. Long story short, he's potentially being sent out this evening for parts unknown (he knows it's the Middle East...let's put it at that). I'd be pretty fearful/agitated/upset/irritable/cranky/grumpy if I was in his shoes, too, and I've known this was coming, and I suspected this was the case last night. Just hadn't been the brunt of his wrath before, and it was a tad disturbing.

Working the p/t job tonight...only time I'll be working until next week when I get back. Three days and counting until Hotlanta!

What I'm Listening To: The Sounds of the Morning Commute Outside

First Word That Comes To Mind: Peace

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland