Dinner and a Confession

03/06/2003 - 8:10 AM

Had dinner with DP last night, and it included an interesting conversation. He's been seeing this guy for about a month now, and it seems like it's going very well. I'm so glad that his move down here to the flatlands has gone well. It didn't take him long to adapt at all.

My end of the conversation was the more interesting part, though. I finally verbalized to someone other than my diary audience that I've been in a funk on and off for the past few months. His response, as I expected, was frustration that I hadn't shared this with him sooner. In all fairness, if he had confided in me that info, my reaction would have been pretty similar, so I can't blame him, and I feel bad for putting him in that position.

The weird thing is, I definitely feel a light at the end of the tunnel. It's as if I've been in a cave all winter hibernating, and now I'm starting to come out of it, even though it still feels like winter here. So I'm taking action...getting out and seeing friends more, staying in the groove with the working out, and, most recently, I put a personal ad up on the internet. I guess I've decided that I'm in a dating mode again!

One week until Atlanta...it's going to be so great catching up with old friends and co-workers. The itinerary so far includes several meals with friends, a trip to Six Flags, going out two-stepping, and a birthday party. Pretty full weekend, eh? Probably the only rest I'll get will be on the plane there and back.

Against my better judgement, I'm only taking a half-day on the day I fly out, and just heading straight to the airport from work. Fortunately, my last day there should be pretty laid-back, so that won't be quite so bad. I'm staying with MB that last night, and I'm a little perturbed with him (what else is new?). He's showing some unhappiness with me spending time with other folks when I'm in the ATL, and it's not at cool at all. The last time I was there, I spent almost the ENTIRE time with him. Funny thing is, he was only an internet buddy when I lived there.

Speaking of funny, we actually DID meet while I was living there, although he doesn't remember it. I was out at Hoedown's (country bar), hanging with friends, and he hit on me. The boy was GONE! Like I said, he doesn't recall the meeting, but I'll never forget it. He thought he was being so slick, but it was just the alcohol talking, and I couldn't get away fast enough. It took me about a year to put two and two together and make the connection, but we just laugh about it now.

What I'm Listening To: While You Loved Me - Rascal Flatts

First Word That Comes To Mind: Optimism

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland