Hi, My Name Is John, and I'm a...

02/26/2003 - 1:14 PM

I'm beginning to wonder if and when I will ever fully confront my issues with "what am I going to do when I grow up". My life has been so much in overdrive recently that I don't ever feel like I've got the time to devote to it. Having said that, I do realize that no one's going to do it for me, and that it needs to be a big priority heading into the second half of this year. Until I do that, I'm just going to wander aimlessly from career idea to idea.

Case in point...a sales position has opened up here at the f/t job, and for some reason, I'm really considering it. At the same time, I'm also trying to work angles at the p/t job to get my foot further in the door than it already is. Are either of those my ideal job? No. Are they closer to it than what I'm doing right now? Maybe. Will figuring out what I'm meant to do take too much effort, and that's why I'm putting it off? Probably. Am I lazy? HELL yeah!

I've always had this tendency to avoid dealing with that, and I even think I know where that stems from. My family has always instilled in me a "practical" occupation work ethic, and that has probably kept me away from pursuing other jobs that don't fit in that category. Another reason is that job opportunities have more often than not dropped into my lap, and that's kind of hard to ignore. That's part of the reason I ended up in retail mgmt for 8 years, although it incorporated my love of music.

So what DO I want to be when I grow up? I genuinely don't know, but I hope there's a good amount of travel involved, as I really enjoy that. Music's a part of it as well, but in what capacity, I don't know. And enough to make a decent wage would be good, too. Any suggestions?

What I'm Listening To: Ms. Dynamite - A Little Deeper

First Word That Comes To Mind: Pop (my ears popped as I got to this part)

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland