Driving In a Winter Wonderland

02/06/2003 - 9:05 PM

Have you ever been cut off by someone in slow-moving traffic, only to have them then stay directly in front of you for the next hour?

Annoying, huh?

By the third snowstorm of the winter, people finally remember that they should drive slower than they do when it's not snowing, but you've always got the guy with the brand new SUV (fondly nicknamed Sucks Up Valuable fuel...okay...there's no 'f') who needs to see just HOW MUCH POWER he now has below his ass. Guess what...all the power in the world isn't going to help you stop, but it sure is gonna help you plow into that embankment THAT MUCH FASTER!

*deep breath*

Damn...I didn't think I was going to get this worked up, but it must be bothering me.

Anyway, by the third storm, all the fast people now realize they need to conform and stay in line with everyone else, but they're still antsy. So they jerk around a lot, and change lanes back and forth like they're missing the big shortcut or something. "I have a meeting in 10 minutes...where's the express lane?" This mentality leads them to do stupid things like sliding into the next lane when there is already less than 2 carlengths between the cars in that lane.

*...6...7...8...*

At this point, the car that had been keeping a reasonably safe distance now needs to hit the brakes, causing the next 437 cars behind him to hit their brakes and increasingly rapid speeds, until there's a wreck in the next county back because one guy HAD to change lanes.

Would he do it again? OF COURSE...ignorance is bliss, don'tcha know?

In case you hadn't guessed, this happened to me this morning. I actually ASKED HER CAR to get into the next lane that was moving faster, just so I wouldn't have to look at that car's bumper and seethe another second. These are the sad and scary things that go through my head when I'm stuck in 90-minute traffic.

Jane...stop this crazy thing!

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland