From Beds to Steaks

01/26/2003 - 10:50 AM

So the furniture started trickling in yesterday. I use the word "trickling", since it came in three waves, and there will be one more wave on Thursday. Talk about your nightmare...

Part of it was going to be delivered, and then the other half I was going to pick up with assistance from TW and his Durango. The delivery was scheduled between 11-1, but I got a call at 1:10 asking for help finding where I was. I knew we were in trouble at that point.

They found the place, and my first contact with the delivery guys was them asking for me to sign a waiver on the delivery of the armoire. That was out of the question, so they called their boss to see how to proceed. After taking some measurements, we decided that it was impossible with my stairs being how they were. So they delivered the dresser and the dining room set.

Furniture salespeople can be forgetful...in this case, Scot (one t) forgot to tell me that not only would the bench along the wall have to be assembled, but the table, too. THANKS, SCOT. And then to top it off, they didn't deliver one of the benches. OOPS!

I stopped at the showroom to see what else they had in the same style, and I found a desk that was about $330 cheaper than the armoire, so I went with it. That, along with the bench, will be delivered on Thursday.

Next step was the pick-up furniture. I met up with TW at four, and we pulled the Durango up to the dock. The guy loading the furniture informed us that the bedframe wouldn't fit, but might if we didn't have anything else in there, so we made one trip back with the nightstands and the chest. On the second trip back, we found it STILL didn't fit, so after a trip to Home Depot and a third trip to the furniture store, we had picked up everything.

For his reward, I took TW to Trail Dust Steak House. To describe this those of you who have never eaten at Trail Dust, it's a "family-oriented" steak house. Picture a huge old-style roadhouse, with a big ol' slide in the middle from the second floor to the first, with a dancefloor in the middle. TW was a bit overwhelmed with all the screaming kids and the live band, but I think he enjoyed himself. And the steaks were amazing...I felt pretty good about the choice, if not the entertainment.

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland