Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

01/24/2003 - 9:46 AM

Talked to CW last night...his partner knows that he's about to break off the relationship after 8 years of on-and-off attachment. It's amazing how peoplehave that kind of intuition, and stuff like this just proves it. Needless to say, CW is pretty stressed at the moment.

That type of revelation is never fun...it's kind of like someone kicking you in the gut or groin, and then sucking the oxygen out of the room. I think we've all been there. It's the same feeling you get when you've just gotten in a car accident, or when you've completely made a fool of yourself in front of a large crowd (not that either of those have ever happened to ME, mind you). The worst part about this is that he's got to live with this feeling until Saturday, when he gets home to NC. He's already booked a hotel room for the night, and has a series of flights set up after that, since he's also interviewing for a new job. I'll hand it to the boy...when he turns 30, he sure doesn't mess around with all that "life-changing" stuff. New job, new living situation, new stress...gotta love it.

As for me, things are just kind of plodding along this week. The big excitement is for tomorrow, when my dining room and bedroom furniture all shows up. Ain't I just a spending fool! I got a breakfast nook table/bench for the dining room (weird shape...it's a visual thing), and then I got the full bedroom outfitted. Bed frame, nightstands, chest, dresser and computer armoire...the furnishing of the condo is DONE! Now I've got to pay for all of this. Think the work on the condo will be all cheap and detail stuff instead of these big-ass projects I've been plotting in my head for the last year. Speaking of which, next Friday will be one year for me in this place...WOO HOO!

Went out dancing last night at Charlie's...haven't been two-stepping in probably close to three months, and I had a great time. I've got something against this bar, even though the people I hang with are pretty cool. No matter what they do with this place, it will never be Hoedowns in Atlanta. I have so many great memories of that place.

I had a revelation while I was at the bar last night, though. Funny how these things happen...as I was talking with a friend, I came out with a statement that it's funny how you can be surrounded by family and friends, but because you don't have a partner, you define yourself as "lonely". Then I look at CW, and how he has had his partner and been miserable, and that just solidifies how I look at this. I'm so fortunate that I've made all of these friends, and that my family is there if I need them, and I know I'm blessed. It's going to be a struggle, but I think I can work through this.

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland