Bienvenue a Toronto

01/23/2003 - 7:06 PM

I've been a BAAAAAAD boy...not keeping promises and all. So here's my Toronto recap...

COLD!

Yeah yeah yeah...I went to Canada in the winter. What did I expect? Well, there's cold, and then there's cold SO COLD that when you milk the cow, you better use a sugar cone 'cause yer gonna get ice cream in the process! On day three, when I ended up walking a mile more than the three blocks I was originally anticipating, a sales clerk in a store actually laughed at me because my ears were still red after 10 minutes of being inside. And that was during a SUNNY day...it did snow while we were there, too. Those stupid headbands for winter use are now my favorite accessory. I even talked myself into thinking they looked COOL. It could happen...

We got into Toronto Friday night after CW's plane was held up in Chicago. We would have had a car waiting for us at the gate, but CW didn't check the confirmation, and the company wasn't expecting to pick us up until NEXT Friday. That would have not been good. Luckily, CW had the number for the company with him, and we were on our way in about 20 minutes.

The hotel was great...32 stories with a great view of the city. We stayed on the 27th floor, but had access to Concierge Level on 32. I had several beers on the house up there, just looking out over a really impressive skyline. (They were lite beers, btw) Dinner was the next order of business, which I take very seriously. On vacation, I never eat at restaurants that I can eat at at home. There was a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in the hotel, and since I'm a cheapskate, I've never eaten there, either in Atlanta or Denver. So it fit the criteria, and we ate amazing steaks with butter on them. Who knew?!? I sure didn't.

After a quick change upstairs, we headed out for the gay village area. CW seemed to have it in his head that I had not lived until I had gone into the backroom with a stripper from Remington's, but I wasn't buying it. I turned down one of the most beautiful men I've ever met, wearing a very flattering pair of white briefs, who wanted to initiate me into the bar (for a booth rental charge...riiiiiiiiiiight). It's almost a week later, and the picture of that cotton-clad rear STILL haunts me.

The rest of the weekend was a series of restaurants, shops, coffee shops, clubs, and COLD. Did I mention it was COLD that weekend? Shopping was awesome...who knew a dollar could go THAT far? I sure didn't. My new favorite clothing store now is Roots. The closest one to me is in Aspen, so I may have to take a road trip simply to go. Made several trips in to HMV, and walked away with some good stuff at least $3-5 less than I would have gotten it back here in the States.

But my most inspired purchase was at BodyBodyWear, a clothing store for circuit boy-types, which I am NOT. As many of you know, I've been working on improving my physique, and I'm actually showing results. so, after walking past this store about ten times through the course of the weekend, and another 50 or so more in my mind, I went in. Found a great pair of shorts to work out in, but also bought a sleeveless shirt that in a couple of months should fit me just right. At the moment, it's okay, but not quite suited for my "under construction" build. My plan is for that shirt to fit me just right by the end of June, when Pride comes around. I WILL wear it, come hell or high water.

My fondest memory of the trip, besides a lot of quality time with CW, was going out clubbing on Sat night. After a couple of lame attempts at keeping occupied, we ended up at 5ive (like the defunct British boy band), and I was blown away. The dancefloor was HUGE. Absolutely awesome. They let you in starting around 9 or 10, but only into a "reception area". At 11, the doors automatically swung open, and there was one of the coolest dancefloors I've seen in a LONG time. We were there for about 4 hours while the floor was open, and I easily danced 2 1/2 of it. I was a dancing MANIAC, but it felt so good. A close second was the retro night at the Cellblock, playing music from the 70s to the 90s. Ah, memories...

So I'm going back. Not sure when, but I AM going back. True story...

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland