Carbohydrates Anonymous

12/17/2002 - 1:10 PM

"Hi...my name is John, and I'm a carboholic."

HI, JOHN!

I know that I've alluded to a diet a few times on here, but it dawned on me that I've never fully explained the deal with it. Now, for those of you with an opinion on this, please don't worry about sharing it, because there are so many things BAD for you that this is the least of my worries. I've been on the Atkins diet for a while now, with pretty good results. 18 pounds and counting...7 pounds to go. Am I taking multi-vitamins? Yes. Am I also exercising? Yes. Am I out of my mind? No. It really works for me. My doctor seems to think so, too, since he gave me a clean bill of health on all accounts a few weeks ago.

I know I just got a little defensive...sorry. I've taken heat from a few people I know, so it's slightly tender to the touch, but it'll heal. RIGHT! I was actually a Rock of Gibraltar this weekend, hitting all three parties and behaving myself completely.

BUT...

About 15 minutes ago, I was called on a mission of mercy, and, against my will, I answered the call. Now understand...this was a selfless act, done on the spur of the moment, and with no thought of the repercussions at all.

NOT

We got this insanely large Wine Country basket in the mail yesterday, filled with Ghiradelli chocolates that stood 6' high (approximately). What kind of a sick, twisted bastard would DO that to me? Who knows...and I bet they thought that they were being "thoughtful", too. Riiiiiiiiiiiight. Anyway, they've been sitting up on the front counter in the office, and it's become an all-consuming thought to JUST HAVE ONE. For a whole day. Even when I went home, the vision of them popped into my head. No dreams that I remember, though (although there was a twisted Six Feet Under dream, but that's another entry).

So after CAREFUL and THOUGHTFUL deliberation ("gotta eat the chocolate!"), I had one. OH. MY. GOD. Amazing stuff. Sick stuff. GODLIKE stuff. My soul is SO happy right now.

This is my dilemma...I have to find a way to let little joys like this back into my life WITHOUT ruining all the hard work I've done. I think I can do it, but it's going to take some SERIOUS willpower. Any suggestions? It's obvious I can't be trusted within the confines of my own home. I've been known to sit down in front of the tv holding a 1/2 gallon of ice cream, and 10 minutes later, half of it is gone. Like a thief in the night...GONE! Any suggestions, comments, anecdotes would be GREATLY appreciated.

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland