I'll Have Another Round

10/22/2002 - 9:09 AM

Went to lunch with CH from the office yesterday, and we went to Friday's. For some reason, I had it in my head that I wanted a crispy chicken salad, and that seemed like the place to go. Our selection of restaurants here in Boulder just runs the gamut, so we actually have a decent selection within a mile of the office. As we pulled into the parking lot, the SUV that was pulling out made a dramatic jerking motion...kinda like a car belching (if they were able to do that). I could tell CH was thrown by this movement too, but not for long. We both saw the beer bottle in the driver's hand at the same time, as he raised it to give us a "cheers" gesture. Charming!

For those of you not familiar with Boulder, this small city at the base of the Rockies is truly a study in contrasts. As I'm sure I don't have to tell you, civilization with a natural backdrop can be quite expensive, so the cost of living here can be very expensive (particularly in the housing market, where a one-bedroom condo can go for upwards of 300-500K). Add to that a prominent college campus and a significant "hippie" (for lack of a better way to compartmentalize several thousand people), and you're looking at Boulder. The easiest way to sum it up is that half of the city eats out all the time, and the other half waits on them. No joke...waiting tables is a hot, in-demand job here. SJ in the office was telling me last week she'd thought about picking it up again p/t, but that it's just cut-throat. Who knew...

Another defining characteristic is the amount of homeless folks this town has. From what I've been told, Boulder has become a haven for some because of the "live and let live" attitude the population has, which I truly respect. But there are times of the day where EVERY intersection has people panhandling for change, and it's a bit disconcerting. This weekend looked like a Homeless Veteran convention...I counted at least 6 of them as I drove through. Down in Denver, there's one guy that uses the back of his cardboard (signage material of choice) to show a happy face. He'll flash you his "Homeless Vet Hungry God Bless" message, and then flip you a happy face. Does this elicit a guilty reaction? Actually, it does. Does this translate into more money? I have no idea...obviously, I've become to hardened by all these signs to even consider giving money anymore.

Okay...digression coming. Boulder PR on hold...

I was in San Francisco about a year and a half ago, and those folks have the panhandling down to a science. Nothing personal against anyone who survives by that means, but I tend to donate to charities, not individuals. There's too much scamming in the world, and I want documentation that my money is going to the right places (my issues with fairness and righteousness surface once again). Walking home from a shopping expedition, something the Chief and I do regularly when I visit, we passed a guy in his early 20s sitting on a blanket on the sidewalk that said something to the effect of "HIV+ and homeless...anything helps". I was thrown...that was a new angle on me. Someone my age, with circumstances that, for several reasons, I could potentially relate to. Without thinking, I went into my pocket and scraped every coin I had out, and put it in his cup. Immediately, I felt guilty, and Chief gave me a look like "why did you do that?" We then talked for a minute about why I had done it, and then left it behind. It did stick with me, though.

It's amazing the ways that we try to make ourselves feel better because we're in a better place in our lives than other people we come across. Although I have none of those issues directly in my life, I could see how it could happen to someone, and that freaked me out a bit. Occasionally, as I walk through the Pearl St Mall here in Boulder or the 16th St Mall in Denver, dodging the skater kids asking for a smoke or change, I think of that guy on the sidewalk, and I wonder if I was duped, or if I truly helped someone down on their luck. Either way, it makes you appreciate what you DO have, whatever the circumstance. I'm blessed with a good job, good friends, my own place, and peace of mind; I also have a clear conscience and can sleep at night. Whichever reason you want to believe is true for the guy on the sidewalk, I think I'm ahead of the curve.

Alright...enough heaviness. I'll leave you with three of the most memorable cardboard signs I've seen.

- Dreaming of a cheeseburger and small milkshake

- I've fallen, and can't get up. Please help

- Why lie...I want a beer!

And it comes full circle...we started with a beer, and ended up on a beer note. I need a drink...

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland