Just Got Paid, Saturday Night...

10/19/2002 - 8:31 PM

Off to a party this evening...my buddy G and his partner D have parties every three weeks, with two rotating groups of folks. G's friends are all more manly and "bearish", and D's drawn toward the twinks, even though they're both in their 40's.

For me to understand how that works for a couple is rough, but they seem to have it worked out, since they're going on 12 years. I've seen these open relationships in just about every city I've lived in, with fair to middlin' results. Seems to me it's just a symptom of other issues that one and/or the other don't want to face, but I truly wonder if there is a different dynamic to male/male relationships, as compared to a hetero one. I am truly a "live and let live" type person, and completely respect the choices that people make (within a wide range of reason). The only thing I think people aren't prepared for in those situations is the possibility of taking responsibility for it when that option doesn't work out. Many people aren't that strong...

On a lighter note...well, I don't know that I have a lighter note at the moment. Makes me wonder if I should be at a party tonight. Hmmm...

10/18/2002 - 10:12 AM

So Thursday came and went, and I didn't spend any quality time with any man at all. Nowhere, nada, zero, zip, zed. The closest I came was the cat, but since he's missing certain parts of his manhood, technically he doesn't count either. I ended up postponing the date last night with JC, and I actually feel pretty good about that. I had a little bit of a bad vibe about it, and despite him being a beautiful man, I listened to my gut and backed out. MB in ATL gave me the little positive reinforcement I needed on that one, and I ran with it. Nice quiet night in...had gardenburgers for dinner (my latest food craving...LOVE THESE THINGS!), and just chilled.

Speaking of MB, I might as well run down the list of ATL friends that may (or may not) get mentioned along the way here. Of course, we've already talked about Steve, who, as far as I know, doesn't live in ATL anymore. Sadly, most of my stay in the city was defined by him, but a lot of lessons were learned in the process. Last I knew, he was in the DC area, but I believe he has moved, since his journal entries dropped off in April. Either that, or he's incarcerated. I wouldn't be surprised either way.

D&K are two of the sweetest guys I have ever met, and if ever there was a couple made for each other, it's these two. I actually met K around the same time D did, but things happened just the way they were supposed to. They're coming up on two years now, and I think an adoption and a commitment ceremony are in the near future as well.

CS is probably my best friend in ATL...yet another sweet guy. I really can relate to him and the way he thinks. He's a high school teacher, and one of the brightest guys that I know. Now, if we could only find him another man who recognizes that and snatches him up!

ML is a neurotic mess, and I love him to death. A pediatric doctor who truly despises living in ATL, I'm actively working on getting him out here. My wish for ML is good luck, because that's the only thing he DOESN'T have...whether in work, love, or life in general.

WY is THE smartest guy I know...so knowledgeable on so many topics, and one of the most conscientious people I've ever met, too. He and B are also in the process of further mingling their lives.

MB is a trip...cracks me up with dry Southern wit. He's a great guy, but we have our friction. Two bull-headed folks WILL butt heads. Although we flirted with dating, it never worked out, and I think that that's for the best.

BC is one of the most "gentle" people I've ever met...flies probably take advantage of him because he's so nice. I think we need to toughen him up just a tad before he thinks about seriously dating someone.

That's about it...there's a few other folks, but these are the main players that I'll probably mention at some point or another. Guess I need to get back to work here. Cya...

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland